Celebrating Kennett High School’s 11 National Merit Finalists

The Kennett Consolidated School District is thrilled to announce that (back row, L-R) Sagar P. Karandikar, Casey Christopher Brown, Eric D. Allenstein-Lyon, Mark J. Koninckx, Justin Michael Lardani, (front row, L-R) Kenneth H. Bui, Rohit Ramanathan, Tess T. Amram, Elyssa Anne Skeirik, Abigail Catherine Frank, Wenting Han have been named National Merit Finalists by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.national_merit_finalist.jpg

More than 1.5 million students entered the 2011 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT), which served as an initial screening of program entrants. The 2011 National Merit Finalists represent less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors and are the highest scoring entrants in the country.

These eleven Kennett High School students will now compete for one of 2,500 Merit Scholarships that will be awarded on a state representational basis. In addition, the National Merit Scholarship Corporation estimates that approximately 200 colleges and universities are expected to finance some 4,900 college-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards for Finalists who will attend the sponsor institution.